Punjab Kings will play their first game in Chennai when they take on Sunrisers Hyderabad in Match 14 of Indian Premier League 2021. In the second double-header day of the season, the two teams who are at the bottom of the table will go head to head.

Sunrisers Hyderabad are yet to open their account in the new season, having lost all their 3 matches so far. It has been their worst start to an IPL season ever as David Warner’s men are struggling with middle-order woes.

Sunrisers Hyderabad field an inexperienced middle-order that consisted Virat Singh, Abdul Samad and Abhishek Sharma. SRH ended up losing the contest, failing to chase 151 against Mumbai Indians. Notably, SRH have failed chasing in all three of their matches in Chennai so far.

To add experience to their middle-order, SRH might look at including Kedar Jadhav, who can give a few overs of spin as well. Jadhav was released by Chennai Super Kings after an ordinary IPL 2020 season but the senior campaigner might find his mojo back in Orange.

Meanwhile, it remains to be seen if Kane Williamson is available for Wednesday’s match as the New Zealand captain missed out on the first three matches with an injury. T Natarajan, who was rested for the previous game, might win his place back, replacing Khaleel Ahmed.

On the other hand, Punjab Kings might want to give Chris Gayle rest and include Dawid Malan in the XI. Gayle has struggled to get going so far in the season. They might want to bring back M Ashwin or field Ravi Bishnoi against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

They are also likely to drop Riley Meredith and get an extra spinner in the form of all-rounder Fabian Allen in Chennai.

PBKS vs SRH, Possible Playing XI

PBKS: Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (captain and wicketkeeper), Dawid Malan, Deepak Hooda, Nicholas Pooran, Shahrukh Khan, Fabian Allen, Jhye Richardson, Murugan Ashwin, Mohammad Shami, Arshdeep Singh.

SRH: David Warner (captain), Jonny Bairstow (wicketkeeper), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Vijay Shankar, Abdul Samad, Kedar Jadhav, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shahbaz Nadeem, T Natarajan.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *